Home Headlines 5 Central Luzon LGUs, Manila BAYani Award winners

5 Central Luzon LGUs, Manila BAYani Award winners


CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, Pampanga (PIA) — Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) has conferred the Manila BAYani Awards to five local government units (LGUs) in Central Luzon.

This, as the LGU-awardees made significant efforts and contribution in the cleanup and rehabilitation of the Manila Bay area.

Awardees include the city governments of Balanga and Palayan; the municipal governments of Sasmuan in Pampanga, and Marilao in Bulacan; and the Environment and Natural Resources Office of the provincial government of Pampanga.

During the awarding ceremony, Acting Environment Secretary Jim Sampulna lauded the LGU-awardees for exerting efforts to help the agency in the massive cleanup of major river systems and tributaries within the Manila Bay area.

“Congratulations to all the awardees. With your relentless support, we will ultimately win this battle for Manila Bay,” he said.

Meanwhile, DENR Regional Executive Director Paquito Moreno Jr. thanked partner LGUs for continuously supporting the Manila Bay rehabilitation program.

“It is through our strategic partnership and collective efforts that we have been able to execute activities that brought significant contributions and progress in our rehabilitation efforts,” he said.

Among these, Moreno said, include daily cleanup drives, grubbing, trash trap installation, and establishment of toilet facilities.

The Manila BAYani Awards aims to recognize LGUs, groups, and individuals that have shown exemplary and innovative strategies in the implementation of the Manila Bay cleanup and rehabilitation program.

Since the massive cleanup of the Manila Bay started in 2019, over 280,000 tons of wastes have been collected from more than 37,000 river and coastal cleanups in the provinces of Bataan, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija and Tarlac. (CLJD/MJSC-PIA 3)

Department of Environment and Natural Resources officials, together with Senator Cynthia Villar, and Palawan 3rd District Representative Edward Hagedorn led the awarding of the Manila BAYani award to five local government units in Central Luzon. (DENR)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here