Home Headlines 1 VCM SD card malfunctions, proclamation delayed

1 VCM SD card malfunctions, proclamation delayed


BALANGA CITY – The proclamation of provincial and congressional winners in Bataan in the elections was delayed due to a defective secure digital (SD) card of one vote counting machine in Limay town.

Lawyer Cristina Garcia, provincial election supervisor and chair of the provincial board of canvassers (PBOC), said on Tuesday that canvassing of election returns in 11 towns and one city in Bataan was already completed except the election result in one polling precinct in Limay.

Reports showed that except for the one defective SD card, canvassing of votes by the PBOC was almost finished at 11 in the morning of Tuesday and proclamation should have followed.

“Ang cause ng delay ay ang nasirang isang SD card sa isang presinto ng Limay so may naiiwan na isang clustered precinct doon kaya hindi naman pwede magproclaim,” she said.

Garcia said the SD card was already reconfigured but the votes in the precinct of the defective SD card has to be refed in the VCM, counted and canvassed by the municipal board of canvassers before transmitting to the PBOC.

She said the SD card involved more than 500 ballots and she was not aware if it will affect the result of the voting among local candidates in Limay.

“Kami dito sa province ay hindi makakapag-proclaim kasi may hinihintay pa kaming isang presinto. Hindi magpi-print ang consolidation and canvassing system o tinatawag na certificate of canvass proclamation dahil ito ang basis sa proclamation until mag-100% ang transmission,” Garcia said.

Awaiting proclamation are 12 winning candidates for the 12-seat sangguniang panlalawigan in the first, second, and third districts of Bataan. All the winning SP members belong to the 1Bataan team of Gov. Albert Garcia.

Also waiting to be proclaimed are Governor Garcia who ran in the second district congressional district, 2nd District Rep. Jose Enrique Garcia who ran unopposed for the governorship, unopposed reelectionist 1st District Rep. Geraldine Roman, and reelectionist Vice Gov. Cris Garcia.

Also to be proclaimed is Dinalupihan Mayor Maria Angela Garcia who won as congresswoman of the third district.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here