Home Featured Article Treaty of Manila signed

Treaty of Manila signed


ON JULY 4, 1946, representatives of the United States of America and of the Republic of the Philippines signed a Treaty of General Relations between the two governments or the Treaty of Manila of 1946.

The treaty provided for the recognition of the independence of the Republic of the Philippines as of July 4, 1946, and the relinquishment of American sovereignty over the Philippine Islands.

The treaty was signed by Ambassador Paul V. McNutt as a representative of the United States and President Manuel Roxas representing the Philippines.

It was accompanied by a “provisional agreement concerning friendly relations and diplomatic and consular representation”.

Initially, the nation’s Independence Day holiday (Araw ng Kalayaan) was held on July 4, celebrating this event.

Former President Diosdado Macapagal moved it to June 12, the date General Emilio Aguinaldo formally proclaimed Philippine Independence from Spain in 1898 in his house in Kawit, Cavite.

Today, July 4 is celebrated as Filipino-American Friendship Day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here