Home Headlines Casada leads SP inaugural session

Casada leads SP inaugural session


THE inaugural session of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan [SP] of Tarlac commenced last June 11 at the session hall of the Capitol Annex Legislative Building with the newly-elected members and the vice governor delivering their respective privilege speeches.

The inaugural session marks the start of the term of office of Vice Governor Carlito “Casada” David and the members of the board that will last until 2022.

In David’s speech, he congratulated the re-elected board members and welcomed the newly elected ones.

“To Board Members Romy Evangelista, Jessie Aquino, Vernon Villanueva, Boy Mandal, Tonyboy Cervantes and Joji David, I want to say congratulations and welcome back. To Board Members Joy Lamorena, Dan Asiaten, Dennis Go and Dan David, welcome to this Sangguniang Panlalawigan,” David said.

The vice governor likewise thanked ex-officio board members, his political party, Governor Susan Yap and the three Congressmen of the province for their support.

“To our ex-officio members [Alain Carlo Sawit, Joselito Capitulo and Kristine Dizon], I want to thank you for your valuable support. My gratitude to our party the Nationalist Peoples Coalition especially to our chairman Ambassador Danding Cojuangco who is our inspiration and to Gov. Susan Yap and Congressmen Charlie Cojuangco, Victor Yap and Noel Villanueva who have shown what teamwork is all about,” David said.

David made mention of his sponsored and authored bill that has made an impact to Tarlaqueño centenarians—Provincial Ordinance No. 001-2016 passed in 2016 that provide P100,000 cash incentive to Tarlaqueño centenarians.

“Around 109 centenarians and their family have benefited from this ordinance. We will continue to provide our beloved centenarians cash incentives and likewise the senior citizens,” he said adding that during his first term as vice governor, the province’ revenue code was enhanced and revised.

BMs Privilege Speeches

Neophyte first district Board Member Joy Gilbert Lamorena said in his speech that he is honored to be chosen by the people of his district.

“It is an honor [to be] chosen by the people to be one of the members of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan. Katambal ng aking pagpupursige sa lahat na mapatunayan ang aking kakayahan upang mapagsilbihan ang bawat Tarlaqueño,” he said.

Lamorena is a former vice mayor and councilor of Paniqui town and a former Executive Assistant of the provincial government.
Board Member Danilo Asiaten who topped the second district race thanked all those who supported his bid in the last election.

“My hearth felt gratitude to all Tarlaqueños for the love and support that they have bestowed in me. I thank all the organizations, institutions and most of all my family who, despite being an independent candidate with no support from any political party still believed that I can be of service to Tarlaqueños,” Asiaten, who served as board member from 2010 to 2013 said adding that he will be supporting all the projects and programs of the administration of the governor.

Another neophyte at the SP—Board Member Dennis Norman Go, who was the former vice mayor and three-term Mayor of Gerona town, said that the last election was an eye-opener.

“The campaign was an eye-opener. We are indeed a first class province. But when you go around you can see problems with regards to poverty, indifference, ignorance and sometimes social justice,” Go said.

Go likewise pledged his support to all the endeavors that would continue the efforts that were started before.

“Together we can all move forward and be proud Tarlaqueños. We have to make things happen and not wait for things to happen. We should be active rather than passive and we should take the initiative,” he pointed-out.

Board Member Danilo David, on the other hand, said that he will perform his duties faithfully and with integrity and vowed to support the legislative initiative of Gov. Yap.

“As a board member, I will perform my duties faithfully and with integrity, promote good governance and support the legislative agenda of the governor,” David said who is a four-term board member and a former Concepcion mayor and vice mayor.@


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here