PMPC presents 30th Star Awards for Movies


    THE Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) announces the offi cial nominees of the 30th Star Awards for Movies to be held on March 9, 2014, 6 PM, at the Solaire Hotel, Pasay City.

    Expected to lend glitter at the awarding ceremonies are some of the best artists and craftsmen who got the PMPC voters’ nods for the various nominated categories.

    This year’s event is directed by Al Quinn and led by Ms. Tess Celestino of Airtime Marketing, Inc. This year, the Star Awards for Movies turns 30 and for its Pearl Anniversary, the PMPC Dekada Awards will be given to honor the best achievements of some of the industry’s notable artists during the last decade (2003 – 2013).

    The PMPC Dekada Awardees include: actresses Judy Ann Santos, Eugene Domingo, Ai-Ai delas Alas; actors Aga Muhlach, John Lloyd Cruz, Jericho Rosales, Dennis Trillo, Piolo Pascual, Baron Geisler; and film directors Joel Lamangan, Jose Javier Reyes, Maryo J. delos Reyes, Mark Meily, Olivia Lamasan, and Jerrold Tarog.

    They now join the line-up of past PMPC Dekada Awardees who were similarly honored during the Star Awards for Movies’ 20th year, namely actresses Nora Aunor, Vilma Santos, Sharon Cuneta; actors Christopher de Leon, Phillip Salvador, Ricky Davao; and fi lm directors Joel Lamangan, Butch Perez, and the late Marilou Diaz-Abaya.

    Also to be given out at the 30th Star Awards for Movies are the Special Awards, such as the Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award, the Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa likod ng Kamera, and the Darling of the Press, whose recipients are chosen by the whole PMPC body from a select group of nominees.

    It is with much affection that this year’s Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award will be given to an actor-thespian and member of the academic community, veteran actress Ms. Rustica Carpio. For the Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera, the PMPC decided to give recognition to two respected artists of the cinema: Ricardo Lee (screenwriter) and Peque Gallaga (film director).

    It has also been a tradition for the PMPC voters to name the one showbiz celebrity who has shown qualities that best exemplifies a role model for professionalism, good camaraderie, and amiable dealings not only with the PMPC group but the whole of showbiz industry’s press and multimedia practitioners.

    Who will be this year’s Darling of the Press from among these nominees: KC Concepcion, Luis Manzano, Vicky Morales, Piolo Pascual, and Mr. Jerry Yap of the National Press Club? We will all find out on Sunday, March 9, when the 30th Star Awards for Movies unfold.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here